Daniel Sticco is the Artistic Director of Sticco Studios, his own vocal coaching studio in the DC area. He has had the pleasure to work with noted artists: Karen Ziemba, Robert Cuccioli, Liz Callaway, David Bedella, Darius de Haas, and Michelle Rios.  Daniel served as pianist for Stephen Schwartz’s International Tour, “Reluctant Pilgrim.”  Mr. Sticco is currently preparing for the London debut of his Broadway musical “A Change in the Heir.”

Daniel’s latest musical, “90 North,” was developed under Stephen Schwartz at the New York ASCAP Musical Theatre Workshop. There

it received ASCAP’s Bernice Cohen Award for Best New Musical, the Berkshire Theatre Festival Award, and was chosen and introduced to audiences as part of the Kennedy Center’s “In the Works” program. Daniel was commissioned to write the Finale for Vice President Gore’s Inauguration and a new Act II Ballet for Stephen Sondheim’s “Anyone Can Whistle” with Mr. Sondheim’s approval.

Mr. Sticco has music directed over 75 productions. He has performed at The Kennedy Center, Goodman Theatre, Great Lakes Theatre, Lyric Opera in Chicago, Cairo Opera House, Portland Stage Company, Shakespeare Theatre (DC), Source Theatre, Metro Stage, Don’t Tell Mama’s, Corcoran Gallery of Arts Performance Series, and many others. He is a three time Helen Hayes Nominee for his work at The Studio Theatre on “Tommy,” “Old Wicked Songs,” and “Bat Boy.”

Earlier in his career, he served as the Resident Music Director for the BMI Workshop in Chicago. There he had the great fortune to work with noted composer Charles Strouse, and won the prestigious Jeff Award for Outstanding Musical Direction for Strouse’s opera “Nightingale.”  While in Chicago, his own musical, “A Change in the Heir,” ran successfully, before moving to Broadway.

Mr. Sticco studied in New York at the conservatory of renowned pianist Martha Braden Jones, a student of Shostakovich. He studied at Emerson College and Ohio State University with a focus on composition, piano performance and voice. He also has taught on the faculty at the Levine School of Music.


Comments are closed.